Home Feedback Contents

Home Adults Schedule Teens Schedule Make Up Classes Fees & Policies About Us FAQ's Important Links *NEW*  Teen Driver Testing
 

 

FAQs

Classroom and Driving Policies:

1.  Classroom (32 hours)
     Each class and driving time is 2 hours long.  Classroom hours will be at the same time each day.

2.  Driving (7 hrs. Driving, 7 hrs. Observation In-Car)
     You will have 7 lessons, 2 hours per lesson.  Drive times will be scheduled 1 drive per week outside of classroom time,
     and will be set according to the student's convenience.

3.  Canceling Drive Times:
     If you need to change or cancel a drive time you must notify our office (no emails) during office hours.
     Drive times must be canceled 2 hours in advance.

4.  Pass/Fail Policy (In-Car)
     It is our responsibility to insure that every student has mastered the basic skills before receiving the basic skills before receiving their DE certificate.
     Some students require more practice times than others.  It is also the parent's responsibility to work with their student to help them improve.
     Parents are required to practice 30 hours with their student before the student goes to DPS to get their drivers license. (This is Texas Law).
     A student will not pass his or her lesson # 7 driving test if:
                      *  The instructor needs to grab the steering wheel
                      *  The instructor need to use the instructor brake
                      *  If the student commits  a moving violation
                                           Example:  Speeding
                                                             Running Stop Sign
     If the student fails their driving test, they must Re-Test.  Re-Test fee is $40.00.

5.  Contract Expiration Date
     Students have 365 days (12 months) to complete the driving course.  This includes the classroom, make-up lessons and behind-the wheel.
     The 365 days start date will be from the first day of class.

What Do I Bring To Class?
*  Pen and paper (everyday)
*  Good attitude
*  Ready to learn
*  Course payment
*  Arrive 30 minutes early on first day to complete paperwork if you haven't done so already.


How Do I Get My Learner's License?

Learner's License is also known as the Instruction Permit.  Once you complete the first 6 hours of classroom training (the first 3 days)
and are between the ages of 15-18, you are qualified to apply for your Learner's License.
It may also take a few more days of review to ensure the student will be successful at DPS. 

In order for your student to obtain a Learner's License, you will need to take the following to the DPS:
     *  Your student's birth certificate (original or certified copy only) or US passport or Resident Alien Card
     *  Social Security Card - Original
     *  TEA/VOE form (Texas Education Agency/Verification of Enrollment). This is the form the DPS requires to prove your student has been enrolled in school.
     *  Second ID
     *  2 Applications issued by the school
     *  Fee

What Is a TEA/VOE Form?

A TEA/VOE form is obtained from the school where your student is enrolled (usually at the attendance office).
The form provides documentation to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) of the student's enrollment and attendance status.
A student must be enrolled in school before they are allowed to receive an Instruction Permit.

What Are The Classrooms Like?

Our classroom is designed to give the student a fun and relaxing environment.  State of the art equipment ensures that they receive up-to-date training.

What Forms of Payment Are Accepted?

CASH, Master Card, Visa, Discover.  You may pay in full, but if you prefer you can make 2 payments.
(1).  Second week of class so the student can obtain their Instructional Permit. OR
(2).  At the end of the classroom instruction

If the Weather Is Bad, Do We Still Drive?

The students need practice on all types of weather.  We will drive in all types of weather except sleet, ice and snow and flooding rain.

What Is The Grading Policy?

Appropriate standards shall be implemented to ascertain the progress of the students.
Progress standards shall meet the requirements of the currently adopted state curriculum guide.

Mastery is a prerequisite to awarding a grade of 70 or above.  Evidence of mastery shall be determined by one or more of the following methods:

1)  Daily classroom grades
2)  Class Participation
3)  Written Assignments
4)  In-Car Skills
5)  Comprehensive Examinations of Knowledge & Skills

The progress evaluation record shall reflect whether the student is making satisfactory progress to the point of being able to complete all subject matter
within the allotted time provided in the currently approved course curriculum for driver's education.


 

NOW Available!

Teen Driver Testing

361-994-0300

Call us today to schedule!

 

Home ]

Send mail to ccdrivingschool@att.net with questions or comments about this web site.